Illinois Emergency Management Agency  
IEMA logo

Pat Quinn, Governor

IEMA Links

Director Monken
Disaster Preparedness, Response & Recovery
Training & Exercises
Annual Reports & Publications
Laws & Regulations
Freedom of Information
Interoperable Communications
Quick Nav:  
  Earthquake Information   

There are two earthquake "hot spots" in the Central United States that impact Illinois. The New Madrid Seismic Zone lies within the Central Mississippi Valley, from Cairo, Illinois, through southeastern Missouri, western Kentucky, western Tennessee and northeast Arkansas. The epicenter of the zone is located just west and northwest of Memphis, Tennessee. The Wabash Valley Seismic Zone is located in southeastern Illinois and southwestern Indiana, with its epicenter located between Mt. Vernon, Illinois, and West Franklin, Indiana. The Wabash Valley Seismic Zone experienced an earthquake with a magnitude of 5.2 as recently as April 2008.

Please select a topic below for earthquake preparedness information and other earthquake facts.

Earthquake Frequently Asked Questions

Preparedness Information for Earthquakes

Disaster Preparedness, Response & Recovery

General Preparedness
Earthquake Information
Public Assistance
Initial Damage Assessment Forms
Ready Illinois
Disaster Plans
Local Preparedness Resources
Copyright © IEMA Site Map | Disclaimer | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Plug-Ins | Webmaster