Quick Links
Legal Community
E-Business Online Services
Citizen Self Help
For Educators
Local Court Information:
spacer gif

E-Business in the Illinois Judiciary - Supreme Court


On January 12, 2012, the Illinois Supreme Court filed Order M.R. 18368 authorizing the electronic filing of documents with the Supreme Court on a pilot basis. On February 13, 2013, the Illinois Supreme Court filed Order M.R. 18368 expanding the pilot project.

The pilot, which is now in operation, includes the electronic filing of documents in all cases on the Court's general docket and attorney disciplinary matters on the Court's miscellaneous record docket.



Law firm entities can electronically renew their annual registration under Supreme Court Rule 721(f) and pay the $40 renewal fee using the Supreme Court's e-renewal process.



Special Supreme Court E-Business Committee:

On June 8, 2011, the Illinois Supreme Court filed M.R. 24671, creating the Special Supreme Court Committee on E-Business. The Court appointed seven attorneys as members, an attorney as Chairperson, and two ex-officio members of the Committee. On September 20, 2011, the Court filed M.R. 24671, appointing an additional ex-officio member of the Committee.

The overall purpose of the committee, along with the Judicial Conference of Illinois Automation and Technology Committee, is to serve as representatives from the user's standpoint for the development and implementation of e-business applications in the Illinois court system, including but not limited to e-filing. The Committee is to develop general guidelines on the use of e-business in the trial courts, the Appellate Court, and before the Supreme Court of Illinois, including statewide standards, protocols, or procedures; analyze applicable rules and statutes and develop recommendations for any changes necessary for the use of e-business within the court; and review and evalaute e-business applications and impact on the oepration and workflow of the courts.

The Illinois Supreme Court also issued a Press Release announcing formation of the Committee.